top of page

WIP for Quarantine: Day #8


Quarantine the play will be posted on here for public feedback and review as Euginia writes for the next few weeks. 
The Google Doc can also be accessed here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1eKNAeAFOjgluewXPGfNissWO6meg5p6VKgsfFxZq_pk/edit?usp=sharing


Quarantine

A daughter attempts to negotiate a murder on her mother during their time of quarantine.

Mother

Daughter

Scene 1

(continued from previous entry)


Mother freezes in fear.

Daughter: Don’t. Move.

Mother: I…

Daughter: Don’t say anything!

Beat.

Mother: Look, just calm down. Take breaths. They… They said this would happen, didn’t they? This is… this is normal!

Daughter: No, this is not normal, you bitch! I’ve wanted to kill you the earliest chance I could!

Mother: Well… Well why didn’t you then?

Beat.

Mother: (getting a bit more bold) If you were really so sure about it, why didn’t you just –

Daughter: Shut up, right now!

Mother: Okay. Okay.

Daughter slowly releases her grip. Mother quickly backs to another corner.

Daughter: (gestures to knife) I’m not putting this down. Don’t, make any sound.

Mother: You crazy bitch!

Daughter advances towards Mother with the knife.

Mother: I’m sorry! I’m sorry! Don’t… Please….


Mother begins to cry.

Daughter: So you do have some feelings.

Beat.

Daughter: In that cold, white body.

Mother: I have to stop. My mucus will drip all over me, and I will make a mess, they said… we can’t make a mess now… I have to stop, I have to stop…

Daughter: Why is it always about making a mess with you! Just…

Beat.

Daughter: (resigned) Can’t you just leave it? I know they said it… But…

Mother: We have to stay alive. We have to stay alive.

Mother calms herself.

Mother: We have to stay alive.

Daughter: No, we don’t have to do anything!

Mother: No, we have to.

Daughter: Who says?

Beat.

Mother: We just have to. It’s wrong to die now. It’s bad.

Beat.

Daughter: It… It’s our choice…

Mother: People are dying everywhere! Without a choice! We have. To stay. Alive.

Beat.

Mother: It’s the right thing to do.



Recent Posts

See All

Quarantine: A Play by Euginia Tan

View and download the readings through the Google Drive here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1lPjN3nVPwqzc-jcSlppOBIOFiHMqYLsG or through https://cutt.ly/EuginiaJBS2020 For the past 4 weeks, E

WIP for Quarantine: Day #22

Quarantine the play will be posted on here for public feedback and review as Euginia writes for the next few weeks. The Google Doc can also be accessed here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1eKNAe

bottom of page